The Cure.

Soothing wind is blowing.
Sun is ready to rise.
Birds have started on with the day.
Everyone and everything seems so happy.

5 o’clock in this pretty morning.

Maybe it is too early to be drinking but not for drowning. A shot of cheap whiskey is poured out from the flask into the cracked clay cup. A smile appears on the face of his whose glass it is.

“Tea, anyone?”, I ask as I lick the last drop out of the liquor bottle.

I knock down the empty flask. Bang the cup on the floor.
The cup is shattered and so am I.
But the flask stands still and solid, just like you.
Funny how everyday things represent the everyday us.

And then you walk in through that door. Today, wearing a black coat. You come by and get into my heart without even speaking a word. You sit across from me and gently pick the flask up to fill it with some magical potion of happiness, I believe.
And before I even know, you are all around ; overpowering everything within of me.
My head is so just as my heart – vacant and acceptive. And so it goes inside, a sip of what tastes like lemon and love, fills my mouth and my hollow heart.

Slowly, I feel the booze fade. Drowning in you and out of the liquor, I start feeling the pleasant vibes.
Outside the window, the sun is shining ever so bright. I feel its warmth and I hear the chirping of the doves, as well.
One more minute with you in the room and I can breathe just fine as before.
And in my head, I believe I see the once broken cup, now reshaped and solidified.

And I know that once again you solved it all. The need for liquor, drowns within me and melts with the composed smile on your face.

Funny how easy it is for your love to come by and strengthen me. To teach me each and everyday that when I drown, I do so in love. And when I rise, I do so in love. That love is a component of air; highly concentrated. And no matter how bad I try, I can never give up on taking it in.

Leave a comment